Extended aging in bottles (10+ years); Considerations?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bradinator

Reaction score
Hey all,

I have never aged mead beyond a year before, but in celebration of the birth of my son, I whipped up a batch of mead that I plan to enjoy on every birthday he has, and hopefully share some of the 18+ year old bottles with him when he comes of age (unless he sneaks into the basement and steals a bunch for his friends...).

It is still sitting in its secondary (6 months old now) and will stay there for until September.

I am not sure what is involved in extended aging of mead. Do I need special corks? Do they need to be changed every X number of years? What about bottles? Store it on its side in a wine rack?

I'm not an expert, but I despise Oxidized Mead.

Anyone else think purging air out of the bottles with CO2 is a good idea for Bradinator's mead?

The recipe is going to impact how it can age. What's in it?

17lbs of Honey, water and EC-1118 yeast. Oh and a bunch of nutrient, energizer to get the fermentation going.

I stopped doing long secondaries when I found them un-necessary for producing a nice clear mead. I also find it easier to avoid oxidation by not bulk-aging.

I would sulfite the finished mead, as this can help stave off oxidation. I would also cap the bottles, rather than cork them. Crown cap seals hold up very well.

I have managed to hold on to a bottle for about 12 years from a batch, and it did have a slight oxidation to it but not enough to ruin it. may not win an award but it was consumed by the brew club without hesitation and only a couple people noted minor oxidation.

So it may be better to get it into some tall beer bottles, cap'em and forget them sooner then later? Makes sense to me! Thanks