Expired yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IBrewthere4Iam

Reaction score
So I am new to starters and have only made 3.

I bought wlp041 but it was just past its expiration ( end of Oct). The brew store it should still be viable and I should just make a starter. I understood before I bought it that it may not be good. Anyway I am wondering if all the cells might have been dead.

I followed the 1/2 cup DME to 2 cups water. Boil for 15, cool then pitch yeast. Normally when doing this, all three times. I have seen "action" in the flask within 12 hours.

I made a starter last night and something does not look/feel right.

It basically looks like a flat beer in my flask. I have swirled it every time I walk past.

So question is how long do I wait before I scrap this and buy a new yeast?

Thanks for any advice.

ImageUploadedByHome Brew1416238528.008784.jpg

I used a vial of expired yeast yesterday and am very nervous of the results or lack there of. My vial had been kicking in my fridge for quite a long time and I decided to go with it.
Let us know how you made out. Maybe it's just taking extra time?

I'd be willing to bet that there are viable cells in there, but the count is so low that it can take a while for them to come to life. With a stir plate, likely 48 hours or a bit more. Without a stir plate, it could take 3 or 4 days to finish out.

Take a gravity sample.

I prepared a starter once with some English Ale yeast. It didn't appear very active, but I had it on a stir plate and experience told me that sometimes these things can ferment out VERY quickly (especially English Ale, on a stir plate), so I proceeded to cold crash it and prepared for brew day anyway.