Dumping uncarbed bottles into kegs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

8string

Reaction score
I have a batch of bottled porter that didn't carbonate, can I dump them into a keg for distribution? Will the oxidation of splishing and splashing from bottle to keg cause any harm? its a Porter I made in December 07. Im just getting started kegging.

I give it try as it doesn't sound like there is much to lose. I guess though I would first put it in a bucket because you could pour more gently and then siphon after that. I can barely get my arm halfway into a keg.

well I made it in december i think, then left it in secondary while I was travelling. After 2-3 months this March, I bottled it. Since I thought the yeast would be mostly cashed out, I rehydreated a muntons packet and split it between the two batches I was bottling at the time as well as the priming sugar. kept it in the warmest place, stays at least 65, but its cold out here. The other beer carbed, but the porter didn't

8string said:
I have a batch of bottled porter that didn't carbonate, can I dump them into a keg for distribution? Will the oxidation of splishing and splashing from bottle to keg cause any harm? its a Porter I made in December 07. Im just getting started kegging.

I wouldn't recommend it have you thought of popping the tops and then dropping a carb drop into the bottle?

Yeah im totally going to do it right now, regardless, I just wanted some imput on the oxidation effects. Was thinking about doing the bottle to bucket to keg transfer too.

RICLARK said:
I wouldn't recommend it have you thought of popping the tops and then dropping a carb drop into the bottle?