Does this CO2 tank look suitable for kegging?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

islandhopper

Reaction score
Hey - sorry - I am totally new to kegging, so throwing this out there for you experienced ones... I just came across this ad at my local craigslist when I was looking for a CO2 tank for my upcoming kegging system.

It's a very good price and looks like good shape, but I wonder about the green painted color on the top, does that indicate any specific rating/purpose for the tank making it not suitable for beer dispensing? Anyone else have a identical tank to these? The connectors look like the normal ones you'd get from kegworks or similar right?

Thanks for any opinions :mug:

Probably fine, althought that guy probably has no idea what hes selling as CO2 tanks and Oxygen tanks have different fittings so you dont/cant acidentally fill forexample a diving tank with C02 and send someone to a grizzly death :p

Looks ok, just double check the size of the threading.

Hey - sorry - I am totally new to kegging, so throwing this out there for you experienced ones... I just came across this ad at my local craigslist when I was looking for a CO2 tank for my upcoming kegging system.

It's a very good price and looks like good shape, but I wonder about the green painted color on the top, does that indicate any specific rating/purpose for the tank making it not suitable for beer dispensing? Anyone else have a identical tank to these? The connectors look like the normal ones you'd get from kegworks or similar right?

Thanks for any opinions :mug:

That's an oxygen tank, if you wanted to use a standard CO2 regulator you would have to buy an adapter for it. CO2 tanks have male threads, this one has female.