curious stuff on my cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sugargrange

Reaction score
Hey everybody,
I'm new to brewing and i'm endeavoring to learn cider from store bought juice for the time being. I'm just doing one gallon batches and have four batches going but haven't tasted finished cider yet. A week or so ago I transferred my first two batches over to secondary vessels and about three days later noticed little specks that kind of look like snowflakes floating at the surface. I've been watching it for about a three days and it is very slowly growing but nothing like I would have expected to see from mold. although that seems like most likely what i'm dealing with.

What I did:
purchased a couple gallon containers of juice, used the gallon jugs as primary vessels.

poured off a little head space (5 oz), added 1/3 cup of white sugar to one, 1/3 cup of light brown to the other, teaspoon of yeast nutrient and pectic enzyme into each, pitched lalvin EC-1118.

Sealed up with airlocks. Brown sugar brew bubbled up into the airlock on day two, cleaned and replaced. put in a dark room.

After two weeks at around 68-70 degrees F, I added 1/8 teaspoon of wine tannin, teaspoon of acid blend and transferred to secondary. I didn't take a starting gravity but it was around 1.000 at this time.

trouble showed up about three days later, has been growing (like my sadness) for about 3-4 days.

Where I suspect I went wrong:
equipment and measuring utensils were kept clean and sanitized but I added all my ingredients (sugar, acid blend, etc) raw. probably should have heated them in some water to 160 degrees F for a time?