changing yeast/hops; how much yeast? DME instead of LME?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surista

Reaction score
I'm making my third batch of homebrew. After drinking nothing but lagers for years, I've started enjoying a much wider variety of beers since moving to London last year - but I still enjoy lagers more, and I'd rather make beers I know I like to drink while I'm still learning how to brew my own.

Anyway - for my second batch I used this recipe (5 gallon batch):

113grm Northern Brewer Hops
2 x 1.5kg Liquid Light Malt Extract
Saflager S-23 Yeast
500g Spray malt light dried extract (for bottling)

This came out pretty good - my wife and mother in law liked it, so I have permission to brew more <g> - but the overall flavor didn't have a 'bottom' to it, if you know what I mean.

This time, I'm thinking about swapping out some of the incredients - any recommendations for the hobs and yeast? I was looking at WYeast 2007 for the yeast, and Saaz Vacuum Packed Leaf Hops for the hops.

Second - how much yeast am I supposed to use? The recipe doesn't say; I just used the whole batch (seems to be about 50mls, or 51.5 grams).

Finally - I used Cooper's carbonation drops instead of the DME - at the bottling stage - no fuss no muss. So I have a 500g package of light DME floating around. Could I use two packages (or four?) to eliminate one (or both) of the cans of liquid extract given in the recipe?

Txs in advance!

-S

Check out the recipe database here for some recipes. At the very least, you're gonna need some steeping grains to round out the flavor profile. I don't know what you're looking for so I can't make a specific recommendation. I personally like IPA's but not everyone likes 'em.

Using Coopers carbonation tabs are ok. They're easier.