Campden to finish cyser?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

myndflyte

Reaction score
I'm a week or so out from bottling my first cyser and plan on doing it into wine bottles. With that being said, should I stabilize with something like campden tablets before bottling?

It was in the primary for 3 weeks, fermented down to 0.998 and at the time of bottling, will have been in the secondary for about another 3 weeks. I've never used wine bottles before but I just want to make sure I'm not going to blow any corks.

Campden (Potassium Metabisulfite) is an antioxidant, and yes it's recommended for anything that will sit in bottles for any length of time. If you also use Potassium Sorbate, that will keep any unwanted bottle carbonation from happening (together they make what we call stabilizers).

Campden (Potassium Metabisulfite) is an antioxidant, and yes it's recommended for anything that will sit in bottles for any length of time. If you also use Potassium Sorbate, that will keep any unwanted bottle carbonation from happening (together they make what we call stabilizers).
Does this sound good enough to do? 1/2 cup of water, add 1/4 teaspoon of potassium metabisulfite and 3.75 teaspoons of potassium sorbate; stir until fully dissolved. Can I just add it to my bottling bucket when I rack it to there or should I stir it in first and let it sit for a period of time? There will be no back sweetening or anything like that.