Brewing cost question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wulfonce

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and was wondering the approximate cost of the raw ingredients to brew a 5 gallon batch vs buying a kit (ie. everything you need grains, hops, yeast ect.)

Right now I'm paying around $35 for a 5 gallon (imp gallon) kit. Could I be making beer for alot less money?:confused:

Yes and no. There is a larger initial investment in order to bring down per batch costs. These would include building a mash tun, buying a grain mill, bulk grain and hops purchases, large enough pot for full boil, chiller, etc. It all depends on how you define less money ;)

I am new to brewing but $35 sounds about right for an extract recipe. It really depends on what type of yeast, and what/how many grains are in the recipe.

You are talking grains and hops, so I presume AG.

If you buy your own ingredients, it is easy to get a 5g batch complete for $12-$15 when brewing AG. I can brew an AG IPA for about $17, so not bad at all, I can brew a Hefeweizen for about $11

Some kits are that reasonable, but some are not. Depends on what you want to brew and if you want to buy stuff in bulk or not.

If you buy your own ingredients, it is easy to get a 5g batch complete for $12-$15 when brewing AG.

whereas if you send the wife to buy your ingredients it'll cost you $12 to $15 for the beer and hundreds for the bracelet.

After an investment of nearly $12k over 3 years my beers are finally down to around $0.25 per serving, ingredients only. Throw in an amortized investment cost and my beer is a bargain at $22.50 per half ounce.

Your results may vary.

I do AG brewing for less than $20 a batch, but have over $1000 into gear.