Brewing blind. That was interesting.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

40watt

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've always been devoted to a good process and repeatability. This time I wanted to try something different.

It started when my expensive laptop died. What? No Beersmith? I'm not an engineer type. Nor am I particularly analytical. Even if I knew the formulas involved in brewing, they would give me a headache.

I decided to use what experience I have to blindly formulate a recipe, and blindly brew it.

I'm aware of tastybrew and other online calculators. I used tastybrew when I was done, just to see some numbers on what I did.

This was fun. That's all I cared about. Even though I believe I brewed a good beer, but I don't intend on doing it again.

I wanted a very petite Saison/maybe Belgian Blonde. It falls in the middle of the styles, but I look at it very much as a Saison.

7lbs pilsner
3 lbs wheat malt
.5 lbs fkaked oats
.25 acid malt

1.5 ounces EKG FWH
2 ounces aged Styrian Goldings 5 min.

90 min mash at 145 F (this was lower than I intended, but in retrospect is perfect)

Batch sparge collect 7.5 gallons (oops. Doing a 90 min boil. Could use more than that.

So I was thinking about a 1.040 OG. I neglected to consider that I would be doing a ninety minute boil. I could have topped off, but I was out of RO water. My tap is a no no. I ended up around 1.055. With what I learned is IBU around 20-25, some folks might have a problem with that. I do not.

This is very pale. Lighter than a Saison "should" be. I say a Saison is whatever I say it is.