Bottling yeast for high ABV?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anotherbeerplease

Reaction score
I brew a high abv stout for the holidays every year; this year it's around 14%.

It has been aging in the carboy for maybe 8 months, so the only way to bottle condition will be to add yeast. I am new to bottle conditioning - normally I keg.

I am concerned that whatever yeast I add will just die in the bottle due to the high abv, and produce off flavors. Has anyone delt with this, any suggestions? What yeast should I use? Thanks very much!

I make similar brews that sit in a barrel for 8-12 mos. I always use 3 grams of CBC dry yeast in 5 gal. I just mix it into the the maple syrup priming liquid. Highly recommend maple syrup.just figure how much sugar you need then multiply by 1.25.

Beautiful thanks guys. I like the maple syrup idea as well - might go well as it is already aged on oak with vanilla beans.

San Diego Supper Yeast, WLP090, speced up to 15% ABV. It is neutral and should not affect flavor or champagne yeast.

I make similar brews that sit in a barrel for 8-12 mos. I always use 3 grams of CBC dry yeast in 5 gal. I just mix it into the the maple syrup priming liquid. Highly recommend maple syrup.just figure how much sugar you need then multiply by 1.25.
Do you mix dry yeast directly with the syrup?
I am going to do the same thing but worry about high osmotic pressure of the syrup will kill the yeast before it gets into the beer.

It'e just to liquefy the grains of yeast .I stir into the room temp priming liquid and pour into bucket and rack all within 5 min. No pressure.