Boiling hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DamianPollard

Reaction score
I have a really dumb question. I am new to home brewing (I have brewed one batch) and was reading in Palmer's book on home brewing that you can get more utilization out of your hops if you only add half of you malt while boiling your hops. My question is why can't you boil the hops in water to get the most utilization out of them before adding the malt? Is it because then the bitterness wont bond with malt? If that's the case, then wouldn't you have the same problem when you add half the malt later? I'm confused.

Thanks,

Damian

You can boil the hops in just water.

Some folks do exactly that. They boil their hops for the specified times according to the recipe and then, near the end of the boil, add ALL of the extract.

You can boil the hops in just water.

Some folks do exactly that. They boil their hops for the specified times according to the recipe and then, near the end of the boil, add ALL of the extract.

Thanks for the response! I might try that on my next batch.

I should add that (according to ProMash) the hop utilization is not affected unless your gravity is really high (over 1065 is what I think I saw when I was tinkering with it once.)

SO, keep that in mind. You probably won't get better utilization in just water than you will with half the extract in there.

I should add that (according to ProMash) the hop utilization is not affected unless your gravity is really high (over 1065 is what I think I saw when I was tinkering with it once.)

SO, keep that in mind. You probably won't get better utilization in just water than you will with half the extract in there.