best way to add coffee?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrummerBoySeth

Reaction score
I am considering adding some coffee to my next RIS, but I have no idea what the best way to add it is. I have thought about putting coffee grounds in the secondary. I have thought about cold brewing some strong coffee and adding that into the secondary. The problem is that I have never used coffee in brewing before, so I have no idea which is the best method, or what quantity to use with each method.

Does anyone have experience with a coffee addition like this?

I would definitely recommend a cold-brew over adding to secondary. Get a cheap but reasonably fresh dark roast, coarse grind it and steep in cool water for 24 hours.

Quantity is tricky, since it depends on both taste and recipe. But, I've found the best way to handle this kind of thing is to buy a commercial beer similar to the stout you want to brew (without the coffee, though), and then to try the beer with various doses of coffee extract.

If you are using coffee beware of the oils that most columbian beans produce. I find it best to cold brew some course ground coffee, and add that to the secondary 24 oz is what I have done on a 5 gal batch of stout before, added a nice note but didnt overpower. I would pour a measured sample of your brew, and use a measured amount of coffee on the sample, then add coffee to taste, scale up to full scale from there.

adding beans/grinds to the secondary gives too much contact time which releases a fair amount of oil which IMHO is a good way to ruin a brew.