Beginner brewer - Should I buy software?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sixstring78

Reaction score
I've just started brewing and have been reading into a couple of the brewing programs out there. "Strangebrew" and "Beertools Pro" to be specific.
From someone who is more experienced what would you say? Buy the software to experiment, or wait until I have some more experience under my belt and just follow some recipes for now?

I bought Beersmith. I bought it for two reasons. 1) i can compare variations of recipes. 2) it offered me some style guidance, even though style is not always the main object in my beer.

I would recommend software for those reasons. I am not a very organized person and software organizes my brews. I have made several version of the same brew, each with different variations. Software allowed me to replicate my favorite.

I use hopville.com as a free resource for storing and fiddling with recipes. It doesn't have near the bells and whistles of some of the other programs, but it's a good enough way for me to guage how the various parts of a recipe will affect the brew. Regardless of what you use, I say just dive right in. If you're anything like me, tinkering with recipes is good for hours of enjoyment!

I also use beersmith for no other reason than organazation and to make shopping list and keep inventory. If being new plays a factor or if you just want to have a software program without $ investment check out brewmate. i also have this it's very basic but has great points too. ie. all the same tools as beersmith a srm calculator Ibu calcs etc and it's free.

I wish I had found BeerSmith sooner. The layout of their "classic brew sheet" makes your brew day much easier. It also alows you to keep detailed records and be consistant.