Beer Line Cleaner - What Do You Use?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bondra76

Reaction score
time to clean my beer lines...

What's the best practices/suggestions out there?

I use sanke kegs if that makes any difference in this.

I just visited a restaurant supply store today and grabbed some DAC, the stronger version of BLC. I've never used it before so I was hoping to find someone who has.

In the past I've used PBW which seemed to work fine.

I have very short lines, and last time I just replaced them rather than clean them.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

I have a few lines that are a few years old. Never been cleaned. I can't imagine how they would even be dirty. The taps maybe, lines? they stay chilled so I can't see how.

Oh my.

There are all kinds of carbohydrates, proteins, fats and oils in beer that find places to stick and stay - including beer line. Try never cleaning your favorite beer glass - just rinse it out - and over time you'll notice the glass is no longer clear, even if it appears "clean". Same thing is going on in the line.

I've been using BLC or LLC with the HBT popular converted pump sprayer cleaner, whenever a keg is swapped, or every couple of weeks, whichever comes first. The little cleaner makes the task easy enough that I'll actually get to it. The first time I cleaned the lines what came out looked pretty bad...

Cheers!

I doubt the porousness of glass can even be compared to plastic hose. But even still. 2 years and the old, the plastic lines are as clear as new ones.

Frankly, after two years that's astounding, even as a fringe outlier.

Otoh, some states have found cause to require beer lines be cleaned every seven days (see PA, for instance)...

Cheers!