Batch Sparging. What's your efficiency?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RipC1ty

Reaction score
I have been brewing for a few years and now really trying to be as efficient and consistent in my brewing as possible. With that said, I do batch sparging by rinsing the grains once, and during the mash have my water way above my grain bed (I am now aware that I only want my water to be a couple inches above the grains if possible.) After I vorlauf and drain everything into the brew kettle for the boil I dump remaining water (170ish degrees) over my grains, with my spigot open, so it goes straight through the grains into the brew kettle until it reaches my desired amount before the boil. However, this process is getting me about 65% efficiency and I would like to be up in the 80s.

Now onto my question... When batch sparging, what is your process and what is your efficiency at? For example, do you drain out your mash into your kettle, then add water so it's a couple inches above your grains and let it steep for 20mins and then drain it and you're done, or do you sparge it a couple of times each letting it sit for 10-minutes?

Thanks for any help provided.

When I batch sparged, a typical process was this:

I'd have 10-12 pounds of grain to mash. I'd put 4 gallons of water in my mash tun (a cooler), add the grist, then let it mash for an hour, stirring twice. Meanwhile, I'd have another 4 gallons--the sparge water--in my boil kettle and get it to 170 degrees.

After the hour, I'd lauter--draw off the wort slowly into a 5-gallon kettle (called a grant). When it's done--took about 10 minutes to 15 minutes--I'd then transfer the other 4 gallons of the 170-degree water that I'd heated in my kettle into the mash tun.