Bass Ale Clone (Extract) Design. Need your opinion

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slimslapper

Reaction score
Hey all, this is my first attempt of designing a beer so have mercy on my relative ignorance :p. I wanted to make a solid extract recipe for a bass clone, with some grain steeping as well. My main reason for making this is my father likes bass, and I am attempting to make a batch for him to get him to warm up to more ale type beers (he is still stuck in the watery american lagers) so a bass ale I will attempt to make. I also wanted a lower FG so that I can use the ale for black and tans and enjoy it with him. Enough chatter here's what I came up with, it is a hybrid of the recipes I have seen out there...

Bass Ale Clone
Starting Gravity: 1.053
Final Gravity:1.014
SRM: 9 deg.
25.7 IBU

Malts and Fermentables:
Marris Otter Pale Malt 1lb- 15 minute steep
British Crystal 60L - 8 oz 15 minute steep
5lbs Light/Pale malt extract syrup
1 lb brown sugar- (not sure if I should add this at start of boil or end of boil, your opinion?)

Hops:
60 mins - East Kent Golding 1.5oz
15 mins - Challenger .5 oz
5 mins - Cascade 1.0 oz
1 min - East Kent Golding 0.5 oz

Your opinion? What about the brown sugar? Ive seen it used in a lot of recipes for the carmel finish that bass tends to have. Does this recipe "fit" the bass style I am going for? Any input is appreciated!

I have a Bass Clone (AG) that has won a few awards. You could do a conversion. I do like your brown sugar addition though. you're right, Bass has that residual sweetness that invert or dememera or even brown sugar can give.

I don't know about using Cascade as a finishing hop.I would pull that and replace with EKG.