Are "steeping grains" necessary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Knutz38

Reaction score
Hi:

I'm new to this and have a question regarding "steeping grains".

I've gotten a couple of kits and they both have the grains which are to be put in a a bag and steeped for 15 - 30 minutes.

They say this is supposed to impart flavor and color. I can see that this gives some color to the wort but don't see where it imparts any flavor, other than a very mild wheat taste, which it seems to me is going to be blown away during the boil.
I can't see any reason for these "steeping grains" - unless you're going to add, say, 3 lbs or so. Am I wrong?

Hi:

I'm new to this and have a question regarding "steeping grains".

I've gotten a couple of kits and they both have the grains which are to be put in a a bag and steeped for 15 - 30 minutes.

They say this is supposed to impart flavor and color. I can see that this gives some color to the wort but don't see where it imparts any flavor, other than a very mild wheat taste, which it seems to me is going to be blown away during the boil.
I can't see any reason for these "steeping grains" - unless you're going to add, say, 3 lbs or so. Am I wrong?

It all depends on the style. You can make a really good pale ale, or a wheat without using any specialty grains, but for something like a stout, a Scotch ale, or anything with more complexity, they are absolutely necessary.