aquafina challenge???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jesse

Reaction score
Alright..I'm kinda scared to start this one off.. I've been brewing for about 2 years now. Have about ten all grain batches under my belt.. Since my first batch I've been bottling half in glass..(And i know I'm gonna hear **** for this) and half in 1 liter aquafina bottles. I absolutly hate bottling and couldn't afford kegging equiptment until now.It was an easy alternative. Back to the point... THE PLASTIC BOTTLES ALWAYS TASTE BETTER. I know..I know..You think its in my head.That's why the thread's called the aquafina challenge. Next batch try at least 1/4 of it in plastic bottles. (If you don't bottle any more and just keg...**** off..I'm jealous. it must be nice.) I'm telling you i thought it was in my head..Until the taste tests..First i made my girlfriend administer me blind taste test after blind taste test. Always plastic.. not ALMOST always..Always. Then her.Then my friends.Then complete strangers at random parties.. Always the same result. PLASTIC PLASTIC PLASTIC PLASTIC PLASTIC PLASTIC. Room temperature..Lagering.. cold conditioning...bottle conditioning.. aging..green...it doesn't matter. So there it is.. It's been haunting me for about a year now, and i just put the challenge in your lap..Be warned though...it's gonna take over your life.

i did my first beer, like 12-13 years ago, in plastic bottles of various sizes and sources.
none were properly carbed and it didn't taste that great.

i'll stick to bottles and *snicker* kegging

Wait...

I'm confused...

You are a home brewer and you have enough money to buy water in a bottle (it comes out of the tap for free - almost) but can't afford kegging equipment?

Your priorities are off. :p