Am I worrying too early about low fermentation activity in my mead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ashley Wilson

Reaction score
So I'm brand new to brewing but my goal is simplicity. This is probably going to sound noob as hell, but that's why I'm learning... :)

I made a mead using 3 lbs of honey, spring water, and Nottingham ale yeast with some mulling spices and orange peels, cloves, allspice berries, a cinnamon stick, and roughly 25-30 raisins in the 1 gallon carboy.

SG is 1.114, and is more or less what I was going for since I wanted this on the sweeter side.

I thought I mixed well with shaking and stirring, I hydrated the yeast ahead of time and sealed it. It's been sitting for roughly 24 hours now and the bubbles in the airlock are about 30 seconds apart and there is about a 1-2 inch layer of what I am assuming is multiplied yeast(?) at the bottom with the raisins. It isn't solid though, actually it just looks like a settlement of a denser and more opaque liquid that moves and behaves like a liquid as well.

From what I've been seeing, I'm supposed to have had more vigorous fermentation by now, but I want to make sure I'm staying ahead of any problems now just in case, or if I need to just chill.

speaking of chill, I live in a basement where it's roughly 65 degrees C, though sometimes during the night it can drop below that.

Any helpful advice would be much appreciated. <3

I think you're off to a good start, but don't expect a mead fermentation to be as vigorous as one using beer wort.