Allo from Maryland!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minorhero

Reaction score
Hey folks!

I have been really enjoying these forums for the past couple of weeks and thought I should introduce myself.

I am a newbie to the world of brewing but I like to cook and I am finding a lot of similarities. So far I made one English brown ale with extract and one american brown ale BIAB. The first beer was ok but not blow your socks off. The second beer is chilling in a keg right now but I know I screwed it up. When going through the mash I was checking temperature through a hole in the lid and it definitely produced inaccurate results. I thought my temperature was in the low 140s and falling rapidly when it was in the 180s. Soooo yeah my ABV ended up at 3.5% instead of 5.5%.

I am using a 6 liter keg with a mini regulator and a tap attached directly to the ball lock so the whole thing can fit in my extra fridge (which still needs to hold food). I am only interested in small batches. Speaking of, does anyone know how to control foam without using 5+ feet of tubing? I was thinking of just making the hole in the down tube smaller.

I am learning more each time I explore this forum so next time I will do dunk sparge and.. you know.. not screw up my mash temperature. I am also planning to add some cherry wood to the last few minutes of the boil next time. And probably going to get another keg to use as fermenter and do a pressure fermentation and then a closed transfer to the serving keg.

Thanks folks for writing all the great stuff on this forum!

Welcome to HBT!
I'm in Pasadena, MD.

does anyone know how to control foam without using 5+ feet of tubing?