About LME, the "twang" taste, late addition and extract color (again).

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scooby_Brew

Reaction score
So I've been brewing AG for quite a few years now, but lately I am also helping a buddy of mine with his first extract brews. Because of that I brewed two extract batches myself and here is what I found out.

First batch I made turned out dark and it had the "twang" taste in it. To be honest with you it's not good at all and I will probably dump out it soon. So I decided to do some reading on this forum and learned a little bit about extract brewing.
For the second batch I did a late extract addition. I added 1/2 LME at 60 min and 1/2 at 5 min. I did a partial boil in 3 gal of water. Half way through the boil I added 0.5 gal of boiling water to make up for the evaporation loss.
The difference in color and taste were just amazing. There is no "twang" taste in this brew at all. Also, the color came out much lighter and is about the same as in AG.

Both batches were all generic LME and partial boil.

Nice, was the beer the exact same recipe? Since I'd read about the late additions before I even used LME for the first time I just started by default doing half in the full boil and half late addition. Did the Northernbrewer amber ale and it came out great, tweaked the hops a bit though. With DME however I just boil it the full length.

Rev.

Not the same recipe, but I brew both beers many times before with AG, so I can see the differance. The second one is a very light ale (Honker's Ale clone). I chose this beer so it would have been easier to taste the "twang" if it was there.

I'm more and more convinced the only source of "twang" is from using a low quality or old malt extract, not the fact that you used malt extract.