A Comedy of Errors

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mouse

Reaction score
I've been sitting on my brew kit for a few months because the weather doesn't seem to want to cooperate and sadly there is no central air here. Weather would get cold but not cold enough... I thought.

Superbowl Sunday with the weather turning snowy I decided to take a change that it wouldn't' warm up like it had been doing after brief cold snaps and stay relatively cold.

First error.. going to the little brewers room while waiting for the wort to boil again after adding the malt. Even though it was only a few quick minutes it was enough for a minor boil over to start.

Get that under control and start sanitizing the fermenter and everything, added the star sans first then water instead of adding it to the water and it was very frothy, put everything in, got the lid in and coated it all around froth wasn't dissipating so rinsed everything to be sure and now debating if I wasn't patient enough and if I left everything in it for 2 minutes or not.

Wort to fermenter was good, little bit of the sludge from the bottom of the pot made it in but not much. Did leave a apparently permanent outline of burner on the bottom of the pot as I had it on high to boil it since it was so large a pot.

Put Fermenter in back of the walk in closet and closed the door. looked a the thermostat on my clock.. 61 degrees. Checked on it this morning and watched it for about 5 minutes.. nothing.

I admit I am bi-polar and have a hard time not worrying about things so I start looking up temps as I was obsessed with not having too high a temp to screw up the beer but it never occurred to me until this morning about too cold.

I look up temps and find these two pages: