5 Gallon System....thinking of jumping to 10 Gallon

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ivndrago

Reaction score
Have a 3 vessel electric (induction) 5 Gallons system that been working awesome. Lately have been thinking of jumping to a 3 vessel 10 gallon system to increase production and reduce my brew cycles. Thoughts or ideas on:
1- is it worth the investment to increase volume
2 - Suggestions on which system is tried and true and best value to consider

When I started brewing I started with 5 gallon batches. I built a keezer and purchased several faucets thinking I would have several beers on tap. It wasn’t until I started brewing 10 gallons that I was able to consistently have more than 1 faucet pouring. Unless your brewing more often or drinking/ sharing less than me this may not be an issue for you. I BIAB, so really the increase in cost may just be 1 kettle and a bag for you. Would it be worth it to purchase a 3 vessel system, I can’t say. I prefer Spike for hot side equipment.

I did the same about 3 years ago. My biggest piece of advice is to consider how much beer you’ll have and how much you enjoy the brewing process.

3 years ago I was giving a ton of beer away to lots of friends where I lived. I got to brew at least every 2 weeks. It was a lot of brewing and sometimes I couldn’t keep up with 3 different beers on tap and 2 fermenters. I decided to move up to 10 gallons.

I moved. I don’t give nearly the amount of beer away as I used to. I’ve moved to bottling beer and giving it away some in the summer. Now I’ve got so much beer that I can go 2-3 months before I have room to store the beer I made. My next batch will likely be my last batch until about January or February. I will have 6 full kegs and about 300 full bottles.