1st contamination shots... Bummer...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrisknight

Reaction score
Well, hells bells! My first contamination. I have been brewing for 15 years on and off, and those that know me, or have seen my videos know that I am completely anal about washing and sanitizing. This could be from my equipment, but I think rather it came from some 1056 cake I have had in the freg for almost a year now. Dang, this was a 1.065 to last through the winter. I dumped the whole thing out and threw the primary away... (Sigh)

contam1.jpg

contam2.jpg

contam3.jpg

contam4.jpg

contam5.jpg

I just had my first contaminated batch, too. I suspect it was a washed California lager yeast, but threw out my old plastic anyway. I had a lacto infection, and had my first dumped batch.

I guess that's pretty good odds, though- one batch out of hundreds. So, it could be worse.

Ya, seriously good luck. Definitely speaks to your attention to cleaning.

I've gotten in the habit of washing my yeast in chlorine dioxide as of late to prevent infected yeast cultures. It's 99.9% effective against bacteria and doesn't negatively affect the viability of the yeast like acid washing does.

It's $0.50/tablet if you buy Potable Aqua tablets on eBay.

you threw out your primary??? it was plastic right? if so i agree with tossing it just to be on the safe side. scratches suck.

Just watched your YouTube videos on kegging actually subscribed under my kids account G-Money. I did take notice how careful you were with sanitizing. I guess you can never be to clean!

Just watched your YouTube videos on kegging actually subscribed under my kids account G-Money. I did take notice how careful you were with sanitizing. I guess you can never be to clean!