1.083 Stout, done in 48 hrs? Possible?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kgg_033

Reaction score
OK, so let me preface by saying I am still relatively new to brewing, as i started up again recently after a 4 yr hiatus.
I have a 1.083 OG stout in the fermenter, and it has stopped fermenting after 48 hrs. Prior batches of lower gravty ales have attenuated at 55% (dry yeast, never again), and 65.5% (wlp007, which I understand to be highly attenuative)...I did not use a starter for this, however, and used 50% bottled water (whoops), and no nutrient (whoops), and only aerated by pouring back and fourth before pitching (again...whoops). So as you see, my process has not been perfect.
So back to my stout. This time I aerated with vigorous shaking for a few minutes. I also used yeast nutrient as per the amounts on the bottle. The starter was wlp007, in a 3qt (!)starter. I settled overnight in the fridge, and decanted the liquid off the top, and pitched only the slurry that remained. So far, as you see, much improved in my process.
Recipe:
3 lbs 2 row pale
1 lb roaster barley
0.75 lb chocolate malt
0.5 lb crystal 60
1 hr mash in 1.5 grain to quart ratio at 155 (dropped to 150 at the end).
Bucket Sparge, yielded 3 gallons at 1.036 (21 GP's for 5 gallons).
7 lbs dry malt extract added at beginning of boil.
Cooled, pitched at 70 degrees.
ambient room temp is 72-73 degrees...I understand this can give off flavors, but given prior attenuation problems, i decided this was not a concern.