Why do you make wine?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DamnRedhead

Reaction score
Hey All,
I've been homebrewing for a few years and I'm making some (admittedly) awesome brews through test and learn, with a ton of 1 gallon batches. Unfortunately, my girlfriend isn't quite as into beer as I am, and because I love her, I decided to look into home wine making. I figured it wasn't too different so I did some reading, learned a few basic nuances, and I am confident in my abilities from a technical standpoint.

My question is simple... why do you make wine? I started brewing beer because I like to drink it, and was interested in how to make it different. After years of practice, I love to play with new styles and ingredients, and am always fine tuning my skills.

Do you like to use the wine kits? Are they worth it? I see them essentially like a malt extract kit... safe, good, but nothing amazing. Are kits good starters? I figure for that price I better be getting better quality wine for the price than commercially available, at a minimum. If that's not the case, where can I get some good grapes to start?

Because it is fun and sometimes it tastes pretty good. Plus it can be easier than beer making.

I make fruit wines and I'll admit that they don't all turn out well. I made some strawberry wine that really just tasted like strawberries that were well past their prime. Pear and peach wine you need to use ridiculous amounts of fruit to get the fruit character to come through and I learned that the hard way. I'm still trying to get plain mead figured out.