Attenuation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Killervector

Reaction score
Ok, here is the deal. I've been brewing for 17 years. I have always had attenuation problems.

I've used pure 02. I've used an aquarium pump. I've underpitched, I've overpitched. I'm always about 3-5 points short of where I want to be.

Not a huge deal in my most recent beer, but a problem nonetheless, since the problem is so consistent.

I made a dry stout. 10G batch. Used 2 smackpacks of Wyeast 1084 Irish Ale yeast. Oxygenated with pure O2 inline in my chill wizard. Pitched a little warmer than I would have liked, at about 78 because I couldn't get it to chill any further with the ground water at 78. I pitched right away, and put fermenters in my basement at 69. Fermented 17 days at 69. Went to secondary today, and am short on my FG. OG was 1.043-1.044. FG is 1.013-1.014 giving me a finished beer of 3.8% alcohol. Now, I was only shooting for 4.2%, but I still came up short. Not the end of the world, but annoying as hell! BTW, I mashed for an hour at 149 degrees.

Any tips? There has got to be SOMETHING I'm doing wrong here. I can't figure out what it is. It doesn't even seem to matter if I pitch on top of an old yeast cake immediately.

Have you double checked your thermometer you use for mashing? It might be a good idea to invest in a good thermometer and calibrate it often.

You should make a starter. 2 pack is only half what would be required for that beer.

Check your thermometer. It could be off.

Mash thinner 1.5 quarts per lb

Mash longer 90 mins at 149F

check your mash pH

The first thing I'd do is double check the accuracy of the thermometer. If you mashed a beer, even a stout, at 149, it should be pretty fermentable wort.