Yeast Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Theron_Jon

Reaction score
I am new to making mead and was hoping y'all could help, I have my first batch currently underway it's a JAOM and I was curious as to when will I know if it is done fermenting and the yeast is done and dead? I know it's still early and won't be done for probably another month but I. am curious.

The definitive way would be to us a hydrometer, when it doesn't change over a 3 or 4 day period, fermentation is either stuck, or finished.
Did you take a Starting Gravity reading?

The definitive way would be to us a hydrometer, when it doesn't change over a 3 or 4 day period, fermentation is either stuck, or finished.
Did you take a Starting Gravity reading?
It seems best practice to take at least 3 readings across about a week, so each individual reading is take about 3 days apart.

Obviously if it's still too high and miles from the tolerance of the yeast, then there's likely an issue of some sort.

It's a bit weird here, to my mind. Having a large number of beer making people, they seem to like to use the "all up front" technique to work out SG/FG etc and make the presumption that the yeast will just do it's thing continuously, as is more likely with a beer.

To my mind, that's poor practice, because honey can be strange stuff to work with, particularly when compared to beer wort.

If they did a bit more research, then I suspect there'd be more about lower gravity starts and step feeding, which is better and less stressful to the yeast.

It doesn't matter that a yeast might be capable of 18% ABV or whatever, too higher starts just stress the yeast or create the possibility of problems through osmotic shock.