Wyeast Starter Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrendyGuy

Reaction score
Hey all,

Well here is another Wyeast smack pack problem. This is my first time working with liquid yeast and I think it might be dead. I received my yeast through the mail two days ago and decided to try it out yesterday morning. Taking it out of the box I noticed the package has a lot of air in it. It made it extremely difficult to break the nutrient packet open. After letting it sit for nearly 3 hours there was not even the slightest sign of activity. After reading some forum posts I decided to go ahead and continue making the starter. I added a 1/2 cup of DME to 1 pint of water. Boiled for 20 minutes, brought the temperature down to 70 degrees, poured into a sanitized container, and then opened the package and added the yeast. I noticed that there were two packets of nutrient inside and only one had opened. I popped that open and added it to the starter as well. Shook that up a little and now I am sitting at 24 hours later and there is still absolutely no activity.

Should I assume the yeast is dead or let it sit for another 24 hours? Did I do anything wrong? Any advice? Thanks in advance!

90% of the time, you won't notice any activity with starters. I'd suggest stepping up the starter a few times just to be safe. Pitch it in your wort when needed, but have a backup on hand. I'd highly suggest trying out dry yeast if it suits the style you're brewing. It's much easier to use than liquid and there's no need for a starter.

What "activity" are you looking for?