want to try my 1st meed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

avm221

Reaction score
Ok so I have been brewing beer for a few years and thought that I should try and make a berry meed. Im thinking a small batch about 1-2 gal

I would like it to no be to dry. I need some advice:

Per gal of meed how much honey do I need?

How much head space will I need during fermentation?

Im thinking of adding about 1/4 of the berries in at primary the rack on top of the rest for secondary?

How much frozen berries should be enough?

Im thinking of a white wine yeast does right?

In beer I have never added a yeast nutrient is their anything I need to know about this? Any other supplements I need to add?

What should I shoot for a original gravity?

1. Depends on how much alcohol you want 3lbs per gallon will get you ~14%
2. I fill my 1 gallon carboys up to the middle of the "One Gallon" embossing for primary ferment.
NOTE: but with a berry mead, and putting a bunch of berries in, do your primary in a bucket and fill up your carboys to the top for secondary aging.
3. You can do whatever combo of berries you want. If you're fermenting all the berries, I'd just put it all in primary to avoid haveing to rack a bunch of times. (the more you rack the more you lose).
4. Using Ken Schraams meadmaker book as reference 3lbs of fruit per gallon will be a medium fruit flavor and 5lbs per gallon for a strong flavor.
5. Yeah any wine yeast should do well, as long as you know it can reach dry, so you can control the sweetness later.