Type of grains

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

imalostboy

Reaction score
Hey everyone I am very new to the home brewing experience. I have brewed two batches barely and they are being conditioned right now. I want to start doing more batches and I was looking into buying grain in bulk. I am still not 100% with the jargon so just correct me if i get something wrong. I am still learning so please don't be rude about it. Anyways I was looking to buy malts in bulk but i have absolutely no idea what to buy. I like drinkings IPA's and amber or blonde ales. Can someone please recommend a type of malt to me that i should buy in bulk?

Basic "2-row" (ale malt) is a good start. Or any Pale malt for that matter.
You can brew any kind of ale with those.

You may be able to buy sacks of malt from a (local) brewery, especially when you know the brewer or have an inside connection.

You will need a grain mill too or someone who will mil it for you. Sacks of grain don't come milled, typically.

You may be able to buy sacks of malt from a (local) brewery, especially when you know the brewer or have an inside connection.

You will need a grain mill too or someone who will mil it for you. Sacks of grain don't come milled, typically.
Thank you for the advice! I appreciate it. love the name btw as well as the pic.

Thank you for the advice! I appreciate it. love the name btw as well as the pic.
Thanks for the compliments! :D