To prime, or not to prime?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RichardFootman

Reaction score
So this may be a dumb, and asked before question, but I am new to all this so please bear with me.

I am making an apple cider from freshly squeezed apples, it has been in my primary for 12 days, I back sweetened with some fresh apple juice, and left if for 2more days, it's at a point now where I'm happy, and it taste real good. I have chosen to cold crash it to get a clearer cider and to "stop" fermentation, so it's currently in the fridge doing that. But here is my question: as I have not let the fermentation process end naturally, do I still need to add priming sugar to carbonate? Or will the process start up naturally again from the remaining yeast/sugar that didn't drop out during child crashing? Any other tips, tricks or advice will be appreciated.

I don't make cider, but since you haven't gotten any responses I'll give it a try.

I back sweetened with some fresh apple juice, and left if for 2more days, it's at a point now where I'm happy, and it taste real good. I have chosen to cold crash it to get a clearer cider and to "stop" fermentation, so it's currently in the fridge doing that.
Back sweetening with time left in the fermenter won't really sweeten - that sugar will ferment out.

Cold crashing won't totally stop fermentation - just slow it way down. This could cause the bottles to explode when all the sugar ferments.

as I have not let the fermentation process end naturally, do I still need to add priming sugar to carbonate? Or will the process start up naturally again from the remaining yeast/sugar that didn't drop out during child crashing?