Stuck Fermentation or Hot Side Problems...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Parfitt

Reaction score
Greetings all.

I've been a hobbyist brewer for a couple of years, starting with extract, but graduating a few years ago to all grain.

I have an oatmeal stout currently fermenting that appears to have stalled in fermentation. OG of the beer was 1.060 and estimated FG was supposed to be 1.016. After two weeks in primary, the gravity measured 1.030. I suspected my fermentation stalled due to cooler then expected temperatures (~60-62F) in the fermenter. I moved the fermenter to a warmer location and observed a little airlock activity, but it again slowed after a day or two.

Last week after 4 weeks in the fermenter, I again measured the gravity to be 1.028-1.030. I decided to add a second yeast packet and mixed up a starter. Again, I had a little airlock activity, bit it settled down after a day.

My question is this, if the gravity ultimately settles to that 1.030 value, what will I be left with? I understand that one of the causes for the high gravity could have been a mash temperature that was too high. I recall that the mash thermometer was a touch high ~158 for some of the mash. So basically, non fermentables in the wort contributing to a higher then expected gravity. Is the batch ruined/lost?

Thanks in advance for the help/suggestions.
Brian

More details on what exactly your recipe, process and so forth is will help us diagnose what's going on.
High mash temp can easily result in higher than expected FG - depending on how long and when it was that high.