State Fair Beer Competion -- Blind Tasting?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ElDuderino

Reaction score
My wife and I went to the Oregon State Fair this weekend to hear the results of the beer competition. We were both amazed at how many times one guy in particular won (14 times) out of 3,600 entries altogether. No, I didn't win a ribbon. No, I'm not a sore loser (I started brewing last year and I'm the first to admit that I have a lot to learn, which is what makes brewing more fun than making a glass of Tang).

It's not my intention to question someone's skill who obviously brews a ton and undoubtedly makes stellar beers. I guess it did make me wonder if the judging is really blind, or whether the judges know who's beer they are tasting? Is it common for one person to win so many times in so many different categories?

I've only entered beers in two different contests and it's been fun each time. I'm just trying to understand the contest thing a little better.

At a state fair, you'd like to feel that the tasting is truly blind.

Recently, I took 3rd in a nearby competition, and I was amazed. I sometimes wonder if the tasters knew that one was mine, and the brewmaster was somehow giving me a hand, due to my enthusiasm.

You could always check the rules, but that doesn't mean that they actually followed them. Corruption is possible.

Or the guy is truly fabulous brewer!

It's quite common, at least in the comps I've been in, to have 1 brewer stand out with several brews taking awards. Just take a look at the NHBC results. You'll see Jamil placed 20 some-odd brews.