Starter from sour beer dregs has floaties

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bjhbrew

Reaction score
Hey, I'm pretty new to brewing sours in general but this is my first time trying to use bottle dregs to sour a beer. I live in Canada so a lot of the sour beers that people discuss harvesting dregs from are not really available. So, when a friend brought me a bottle of Russian River Supplication I wanted to try to utilize the brett and bacteria to sour a beer. The bottle was around a year old and I only have one so I decided to make a starter following the steps on the milk the funk wiki. I started with 150 ml of 1.040 wort added directly to the dregs in the bottle and then wrapped foil over the top. I let that go for nearly a week to wake up the little critters; there was clearly activity after this time. So, I next made 1 Litre of starter wort and added this and the initial starter into a mason jar. What is strange is that I'm getting some gelatinous blobby like floaters - both in the bottle and now more so in the mason jar. It doesn't look like mold to me and doesn't really smell off. If anything it smells a little tangy and like over ripe bananas. Does anyone know what this goopy stuff is? Is it anything to be concerned with?

Starter dregs.JPG

I would guess it’s a pellicle from one of the successfully cultured strains, which is a good sign

could be one of several things - both good (pellicle) or bad (mold or other undesirable critter). hard if not impossible to know without a lab.