Should I treat my water for an extract Kölsch?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J2W2

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi,

I've been brewing for several years and have never treated my water - never even really thought about it until fairly recently as I see more and more articles about it. I fill my kettle the night before, add a 1/4 Campden tablet and call it good. I brew extract and partial-mash; all ales so far. I've never had a beer that seemed "off" in any way and I've always been happy with the outcome. Which of course doesn't mean they can't be better! :cool:

I'm not sure how close our local water (Lincoln, NE) is to what would be considered "ideal" for brewing. If I understand water chemistry correctly, some issues like PH are probably not as important to me since I don't brew all-grain. Pretty much everything I've brewed so far has a pretty robust flavor (strong ales, browns, porters, stouts, IPAs, etc), which I assume are more forgiving on the water.

Anyway, I have two kegs nearing empty. I'm brewing a nut brown ale next week for one, and I'm thinking of trying a Kölsch for the other. I am guessing a Kölsch will be a little less tolerant of poor water chemistry, so I thought I'd attach our local water profile (I've just attached relevant pages) to see what your thoughts are. I brew five-gallon batches, so any recommended adjustments for a starting volume in the 6.5 gallon range would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help!

Attachments

• 2019 Annual Drinking Water Quality Report.pdf
    259.8 KB · Views: 18
When using extract kits I think its best to use RO water . The water profile is already complete .