Should I convert my fridge to kegerator ???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Foureyes2020

Reaction score
hey guys,

I’m new to brewing my own brews. Recently bought the 3ga BIAB kit from Northern Brewers. It’s currently fermenting, and I’ve done about three other batches from my one gallon starter kit. Really enjoying the process up to this point. I was a Chemistry major in college and this has always peaked my interest.

Anyways, I currently have a spare refrigerator in my garage that is not being used. It the standard size with a freezer in the top. While I’m currently bottling my own beer I thought that I might want to convert my spare fridge to a kegerator. But I’ve also heard about others using a spare fridge as a fermentation chamber after purchasing a temperature control module.

Which would you recommend? Can you do both?

Currently I’m storing my fermenter in my basement which during these hot summer days stays at a steady 69-70 degrees. Currently using yeast that requires 65-75 degrees.

Thanks for any input and ideas. Thanks in advance!

That's a decision only you can make. I don't think there is a way to use it for both, unless you want to serve beer at fermentation temps!?

I will say that controlling fermentation temps can have a dramatic impact on your final product. That's my vote.

I read past the title and suggest fermentation temperature control. If you can do that and make the kegerator all the better. But 70 degrees ambient can allow the fermentation to rise as high as 80 - not great! Fermentation temperature control is one of the easiest things to do to make your beers better.

Ferm Chamber first. Once you get sick of bottling buy a chest freezer and make a keezer. Way more steezy than a kegerator.