Salutations!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Incubus2112

Reaction score
Hey all, my name is Brent A.K.A Incuubus2112. Nice to meet you.

I am brought here today by way of a spur-of-the-moment Christmas purchase for myself from the 2016 holiday season.

And there it sat for a few months until round about mid-March when I broke out the All in One Extract kit from Northern Brewer. Came with a 5 gal kettle, paint buckets, siphon starter, and hoses. Also included was the milled grain, cheese cloth bag, and the extract as well as the yeast.

I was most concerned with not sanitizing everything correctly, but I ended up pushing together all of these alien things to make a drinkable beer my first time out.

Not only drinkable, but actually good.

I have had a lot of experience cooking food and I was going through what I had experienced in that milieu: that I could create stuff that was better than what I was purchasing as well as cheaper!

From that point, I went all grain. Got a 10 gal igloo/mash/lauter ton and tried my hand at my first all grain batch of German altbier from NorthernBrewer.

This was WAY more difficult than the original recipe with a multistage mashout to get alpha and beta-amalyse from the mash. It came out decent. Not great, not bad, but decent.

Since then I've been brewing nothing but California Common beers after having purchased a keg of Anchor Steam and noticing how it lost its bitterness when properly chilled off tap.

I've gone about recreating this and am still in the midst of it having a batch coming out of fermenting that I'm planning on cold crashing to drink day after tomorrow via keg.

To finish up with I've just gotten my chest freezer (7 cu ft)

Here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MVVITCC/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20