Rex C100 PID question: what is phase and what is neutral?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hydrocynus

Reaction score
Hello all, newbie here. I have looked at most (not all) of the threads RE: the REX C100 PID on this forum and others. I understand that there are a bunch of them out there and this makes it quite difficult to know how to wire them. The manual is in Chinese but no wiring diagram is provided.

The model I bought is a BERM (not BERME) REX C-100 FK2-V*DN with a SSR 40 DA relay and thermocouple 0-400ºC.

So, according to the references above, I have a PID action with autotuning (F) with thermocouple input type (K, in my case 0-400ºC = 2) with voltage pulse (no internal relay) with first alarm (Band alarm= D) and no second alarm (=N).

So it is the most simple PID with no second alarm and that can control a SSR. The supply is 110-240V AC, 50/60Hz, so all is good here.

At the back of the unit, I have screws for:
1 and 2: AC input
3: empty
4(+) and 5(-) for connection to the relay (3,+ and 4,-)
6,7: empty
8: empty
9, 10: for the thermocouple, K type, 9 (-), 10 (+)

My issue is that there is no info about 1 and 2 on the side of the box so I do not know what is the neutral and what is the phase. I have seen that some have 1 with a + next to it or at least, the manual comes with a wiring diagram but I have no info.

When I open the box, 1 is connected to BD1 MB6S bridge connected to the (+) of the bridge. 2 is connected to a FR 1OR 1/2W resistor connected to the (-)of the bridge (I think).

So, I assume that my phase (hot, +) is the terminal 1 and my neutral (N) is my terminal 2?

Thanks for your help!

Cheers to all.
Hydro