Re-use White Labs WLP775 English Cider Yeast Bed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxtpower

Reaction score
Hi,

I just pitched White Labs WLP775 English Cider Yeast for 5 gallon batch. It is my first time using the yeast and it's my second batch of cider.

On the White Labs website, it states you can re-use the yeast:
https://www.whitelabs.com/beer/cider

What's the best way?

Pour another 5 gallons of apple juice in the bucket after I rack the current 5 gallons?

Thanks everyone for their input.

Cheers.
:mug:
Max

Hi,

I just pitched White Labs WLP775 English Cider Yeast for 5 gallon batch. It is my first time using the yeast and it's my second batch of cider.

On the White Labs website, it states you can re-use the yeast:
https://www.whitelabs.com/beer/cider

What's the best way?

Pour another 5 gallons of apple juice in the bucket after I rack the current 5 gallons?

Thanks everyone for their input.

Cheers.
:mug:
Max

I just dumped another 5 gallons right into the fermenter. If you are going to rack and crash it at a desired SG then you need to watch close, it will happen very, very fast.

This a vid of the cider I did back in Novemeber. Racked, crashed and kegged at 1.026
Semi dry and smooth with a wonderful fruity/apple flavor and bubbles like champagne. Got another carbon of the same just sitting in the fridge waiting.
Best I have ever made. Saved the yeast and hope to make a starter with it.

View attachment trim.4F2280DC-303F-45E1-83B6-B449B3A9D6AB.MOV