Problem with Brew Father and ph

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kurds_2408

Reaction score
Hi. I am having a problem with my ph always coming out low. I am very new to water adjustments. The only thing I am doing currently is Sodium Metabisulphite for chlorine and lactic acid to lower ph. I’ve got pretty good water so just starting small. I started both these changes at the same time and have only been doing this for about 5-8 batches. Never did anything for a hundred batches before (I know, I am ashamed lol). I am currently using Brew Father to calculate. I got my water tested so I know exactly what the numbers are and put them into BF. I use an InkBird ph meter. My problem is I always end up around 4.7 to 5 following their recommendation for lactic acid. Obviously I could always just use less than recommended but would like to not have to guess. Does the Sodium Metabisulphite change ph? Cause I did notice that the recommended lactic acid doesn’t change if I change the amount of SM in the recipe. Wondering if that is where it messes up. Any help would be appreciated.

For reference my water ph is 7.8 and depending on recipe it has me 2-4ml of acid to it every time.

I got my water tested so I know exactly what the numbers are and put them into BF.
A potential issue is that municipal water supplies can change as they switch between surface water and well sources (or a blend of the two). This is the main reason why I switched to an RO filter because spending $100 once is cheaper than getting water tested a couple times a year. Not only that, I have more flexibility in what my resulting water profile can be.
I use an InkBird ph meter.