Partigyle Recipe Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

traviswalken

Reaction score
I will brew Brewing Classic Styles Old Monster American Barleywine next week. The recipe has 2 lbs crystal, .25 lbs pale choc, and .25 lbs special b. I want to make a pale ale with the second runnings. I will add dme to the barleywine and/or pale ale if I don't hit gravity targets.

Should I consider steeping some crystal in the second runnings beer? I have heard that second runnings beers can be a little thin?

On the other hand, if the second runnings beer gets about 1/3 of the sugars/malt, then it would have .67 lbs crystal plus a little pale choc and special b. That seems like a reasonable pale ale malt bill without adding crystal.

I've never done a partigyle before, so hoping for some help.

Thanks.

How about some more details:
  • Batch or fly sparge?
  • Total grain bill?
  • Target batch size and OG for the big beer?
  • Mash tun volume?
Brew on :mug:

My suggestion would be to mash the base malt plus the crystal malts. Run that off into a kettle (do the calculations for a no-sparge batch of the strong beer). Steep your .25 lbs pale choc, and .25 lbs special b in that wort for 10-15 minutes (feel free to start the flame at a low level and set your immersible thermometer to beep at you around 170°F ish).

Now batch sparge yourself about 3-4 gallons for that second runnings pale ale (add 175°F water, stir, wait, vorlauf till clear, drain to second kettle). If you get enough sugar out of it move on, if not try a 3rd batch sparge of 1-2 gallons.