Partial mash and then steep?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcleanmj

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've never done a partial mash before, but have done many all grain batches and a few extract. I don't currently have the capacity for all grain, but I'd like to make this recipe:

https://homebrewsupply.com/goose-island-bourbon-county-stout-clone-all-grain-recipe-kit/https://homebrewsupply.com/goose-island-bourbon-county-stout-clone-extract-recipe-kit/
However, I am unable to find Munich LME (in Canada), and would prefer to mash it anyway. If I were to mash the 5 lbs of Munich and all the specialty grains with 1 lb of 2-row, I end up with fairly low diastatic power, and an enormous grain bill. If I only mash the Munich and 1 lb of 2-row, I get higher diastatic power and a smaller grain bill. So, it seems more reasonable to do the partial mash with only the Munich and the 2-row, and then to steep the specialty grains afterwards. However, being new to partial mash, I'm not sure if high diastatic power is important for the specialty grains or if there would be any difference between including them in the mash vs. steeping them separately? Could including lots of specialty grains in the mash reduce the ability of the 2-row and Munich to convert? And is there any problem with doing a mash followed by a steep? I've not seen this anywhere.

Thanks a lot if anyone can shed some light...

If I were to mash the 5 lbs of Munich and all the specialty grains with 1 lb of 2-row, I end up with fairly low diastatic power, and an enormous grain bill. If I only mash the Munich and 1 lb of 2-row, I get higher diastatic power and a smaller grain bill.

What do the DP numbers look like?