Ordering Liquid Yeast Online

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

markag

Reaction score
I've got a brew day planned out two weeks from now. My recipe calls for German ale/kolsch yeast (white labs 29 to be specific). I went to the local home brew store yesterday to get everything I needed, but they didn't have the yeast. They didn't have any kolsch yeast as a substitute either.

I'm looking for suggestions on ordering online. I'm pretty new to homebrew still, my previous batches were all 1 gallon kits purchased from Amazon that came with everything ready to go.

I see Amazon has a listing for white labs German ale/kolsch, as well as a couple wyeast German ale or kolsch options. The only review on the white labs option stated that the yeast were all dead. I've seen that on northern brewing too for the same yeast.

I guess I have a few questions:

1. Where do you guys source your yeast from online? I can get the stuff from Amazon for about $12 shipped. It's there a better option? I don't want to pay an arm and a leg, but I want my beer to turn out too.

2. Do I need to really worry about the negative reviews claiming dead yeast? Or, is it one of those deals where you only hear the bad stuff, and it isn't really that big of a problem.

3. Is one brand better for ordering online? (white labs or wyeast)

Thanks for the help.

Did you ask when your local store would get their next order? Mine gets a shipment every two weeks. In your case, you'd be all right.

I have had good luck having yeast shipped from Morebeer. I feel more comfortable getting yeast shipped in non-summer months, but I have no science to support that fear. I bet you are two-day shipping from their PA outpost.