Old beers and hop flavour turning you off

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Good evening gents

I'm fairly new to brewing, and am in the middle of a transition to all-grain (BIAB) brewing. A part of my process has been to buy craft brews in the 22oz bombers to try everything I can get my hands on and get an idea as to what I'd like to brew.

Note: i'm in Canada, so most American craft brews are going to be old.

When I first started tastig craft IPA's, I thought they were my favourite I tried a few and LOVED them. The one I really enjoyed were;

Howe Sound - Total eclipse of the hop
Howe Sond - Devils Elbow
Red Racer IPA
Cloak and Dagger Cascadian Dare Ale
Dogzilla Black IPA

So with this decided, I ordered a bunch of kit and started brewing. My first brew was a Coopers IPA kit, brewed with an additional 3oz of Cascade, and a bunch of DME and dextrose. It's fantstic and I'm enjoying it immensely.

Fast forward to l:mug:ast night, a few friends come over and bring a couple of bottles to :try. Something unexpected happens when we open the first IPA:

I hate it. I mean gag put the glass down, and wonder WTF is happening hate it Absoutely wrong in every way. It's hot with alcohol, leaves a horribly bitter, disgusting aftertaste, and is one of the most foul beverage I've ever had te misfortune of imbibing. That beer was Green Flash's :Imperial IPA.

Not to be thrown off immediately, I check ratebeer to look at the revie - 91% Alright, somethng is wrong with this bottle. But then the damndest thing happens.