Oaking a wheat beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NickersonC

Reaction score
Not positive that this is the right forum for this topic, but whatever.

So I initially got this idea after reading a recipe for a peach wheat beer (seen here: https://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=82544). I'm still very new to brewing, but have considered myself somewhat of an 'oak-head' for some time before my forays into brewing. I thought it might be cool to add a little oak to a recipe like this to possibly counteract some of the inherent sweetness and add a little depth to the flavor profile.

So, I went off on a several-day internet search to see if anybody has tried anything like this, and unfortunately have turned up no results. In fact, I haven't even found a recipe, article, or forum post about people adding oak to a wheat beer of any type, let alone a fruit beer.

Before I go too far, I'm not necessarily talking about a wheat beer like hefeweizen or belgian white or what-not, more along the lines of a pretty generic american-style wheat beer (if that exists? I'm far from an expert on wheat beers).

Then, I started thinking a little more out of the box, like soaking oak cubes/chips (seems like cubes are what the kids are using these days) in the peach puree itself for some time before adding, although I really don't know if that would do anything. Why not soak some oak in peach-flavored brandy for a while and add it to a beer instead of real peaches, or maybe use a smaller amount of peaches with this method? Even soak it in something like Deep Eddy's Peach Vodka which uses all real peaches (now I'm really getting crazy). Not really serious about the vodka, but it did come to mind.

To simplify all this:

Oak in a fruit beer?
Oak in a wheat beer?