Noob Wine Help - Stuck Fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdstrobe

Reaction score
Hey guys,

This probably sounds like a total noob and get stressing out for nothing, but I started to ferment a wine from carmenere grapes I received from a local homebrew shop. All started well (I have two 1-gallon batches split) with an O.G. of 1.100 both with the E-1118 wine yeast. A week later, I noticed that the S.G. read 1.030. The next day, the same. The next...the same.

So I added more yeast in an effort to relax, however I'm still seeing no change in S.G. I'm starting to pull some from the gallon to ferment on it's own with more E-1118, but it's not changing. What can I do? I think I've tried literally everything (1) warming the liquid--currently at 75F. (2) agitating and swirling the liquid and (3) adding a metric-ton of yeast.
Any other ideas or should I wait another week? Has anyone else experienced stubborn wines when getting to the 1.030 mark?

I know I know I'm just a nervous home winemaker but this is my 5th batch with the same method/equipment and the first where I'm experiencing this problem.

Thanks!

I have seen this, but not with fruit wines - I've had it happen with country brews like ginger beer. Never totally resolved it, but my theory is lack of nutrients combined with antifungal ingredients inhibiting the yeast.

Maybe try adding nutrient and energizer?

Also, many times it kind of "hangs" there for a few days, and then resumes fermenting. Patience is probably ok too.