no carbonation and tast kinda like water

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjkopp

Reaction score
Well im new to site and im still learning how to use it. Also im new to brewing beer and pop. So here we go.
Grains- 12 oz caramel 10,4 oz chocolate = 25 min 155-160 temp.
Then I added 6lbs munich malt took that up to a boil
Hops= 2 oz crysta pellet and 1 oz nugget hops ( nuggets are from the back yard)
boil time 50 min.
Hops = 1 oz Hallertau and .5 oz nugget hop ( back yard ) 5-7 min
cooled down to 78 or so put it in the bucket added as much air as i could and put the yeast on top and sealed.

The airlock bubbled for two days and on the third I put it into a carboy and let it sit for 3 days. My friend said i could bottle at that time. so I did. Primed the sugar, bottled, and let them sit for 7 days. but the temp was around 58-62f kind cold..

I tried one and it was FLAT and kinda tasted like water( alittle). Not sure what to do now any insite would help? Thanks for reading my post Jamie :(

oops I did take a reading on the first day ( I can't figure out how to read it) it said 5% and on the 3rd 8% and the 6th= 8%??
thanks Jamie

It sounds like you moved it to the carboy too early and killed the fermenation. Probably should leave it in the primary fermenter until primary fermentation is complete (7-10 days at the very least) before racking to carboy. Lots of people say racking to a secondary isn't necessary at all. I'd suggest you learn to use that hydrometer so you know where your original gravity is and then your final gravity as well. You really only can tell if fermenation is complete by taking gravity readings. You shouldn't bottle before the fermentation is complete.