Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ufph1

Reaction score
So I started brewing a couple months back so my experience isn't massive. But I've read John Palmer, and try to stick by "the book." In terms of all the brewing literature/knowledge I've obtained as far as proper procedure. But with that being said on to what I am sure is a "noob" problem explored ad nauseam. My brewing buddy and I went to bottle my our all grain batch which was a DIPA. Took gravity reading it was good. Tried a sample of the uncarbonated beer. Smelled great had this peachy hoppy aroma, and a slight aloholic note, But nothing major. And considering the high abv I figured no biggy, as it mostly smells of a stone/tropical fruit bouquet. And when I tasted it, I didn't get any alcohol on the taste. So we used a bottling bucket, siphoned from primary, gently mixed in priming sugar, (which I also repitched some dry yeast with the priming sugar, us-05 because of the high abv.) And then we preceded to transfer the beer to the sanitized bottles using a tube and priming wand attached to the spigot. Everything went great so I figured Awesome. I'll condition for 2 weeks then cold crash in refrigerator then try one. Well this was a week ago and I get a message from my buddy saying he cracked one and all the hoppy/peachy flavor seems to be gone. And said it tasted like a similar homebrew beer we had tried that to me was very alcohlic/solventy. So I wasn't there when he tasted it but assuming I know what he means I'd describe the taste as cheap liquor. And it's wierd because you can taste sweet/good flavor beer underneath so I am not sure what's going on