Need some (A lot) of guidance building R Pi controller with Craftbrew Pi software

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marjen

Reaction score
So I am hoping to set up a controller for my eBrewery I am working on. I am looking to control the following:

1 240v heating element
2 temp probes
2 pumps

I am going to have a BK/HLT and going to heat the wort via counterflow chiller connected to the mash tun. I have never built a Raspberry Pi before so this is all new to me. I am really trying to get a handle on what components I will need. I believe I will get a
RASPBERRY PI 3 MODEL B+ kit from amazon with the power supply and 32 gb
Micro SD Card. I am going to look into the either an official Craftbrew Pi board or the
Terragady one. I don't really know the difference yet.

After that I am lost. I need to know what other components are needed to control and get feedback from the above items. I think I need one of these for the heating element and maybe the pumps?
Mager SSRs
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B076H12C3J/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

What do I need too interface with temp control and power supply for heating element and pumps etc? Do I still need some type of box to put all this in?

Any help or if you could point me to a good clear primer would be awesome. Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
I and many others here have built Craftbeerpi systems. Search the forum and you'll find some builds.

Not to toot my own horn - because I recommend you do a better job than I did building mine..... I just know where these threads are.
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum/...plete-biab-craftbeerpi-system-testing.642047/
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum/...iab-craftbeerpi-system-some-questions.639645/